1	OPEN EXECUTIVE SESSION TO CONSIDER FAVORABLY REPORTING
2	THE NOMINATIONS OF SARAH BLOOM RASKIN, OF MARYLAND, TO BE
3	DEPUTY SECRETARY OF THE TREASURY, VICE NEAL S. WOLIN; AND
4	RHONDA SCHNARE SCHMIDTLEIN, OF MISSOURI, TO BE A MEMBER
5	OF THE UNITED STATES INTERNATIONAL TRADE COMMISSION FOR A
6	TERM EXPIRING DECEMBER 16, 2021, VICE SHARA L. ARANOFF,
7	TERM EXPIRED
8	WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 15, 2014
9	U.S. Senate,
10	Committee on Finance,
11	Washington, DC.
12	The meeting was convened, pursuant to notice, at
13	12:15 p.m., in S-216, the President's Room of the
14	Capitol, Hon. Max Baucus (chairman of the committee)
15	presiding.
16	Present: Senators Baucus, Rockefeller, Wyden,
17	Schumer, Stabenow, Cantwell, Nelson, Menendez, Carper,
18	Cardin, Brown, Bennet, Casey, Hatch, Grassley, Crapo,
19	Enzi, Cornyn, Thune, Burr, Isakson, and Portman.
20	Also Present: Democratic Staff: Rory Murphy,
21	Nominations and International Trade Advisor; Tiffany
22	Smith, Tax and Nominations Professional Staff Member; and
23	Anderson Heiman, Tax Policy Analyst. Republican Staff:
24	Nick Wyatt, Tax and Nominations Professional Staff
25	Member. Non-designated Staff: Josh LeVasseur, Chief

- 1 Clerk; Jewel Harper, Deputy Clerk; and Bryan Palmer,
- 2 Deputy Clerk.

3

- 1 The Chairman. The committee will come to order.
- 2 The committee meets today to consider two
- 3 nominations. I now entertain a motion that the committee
- 4 favorably report the nominations.
- 5 Senator Hatch. So moved.
- 6 The Chairman. The committee will consider the
- 7 nomination of Sarah Bloom Raskin, of Maryland, to be
- 8 Deputy Secretary of the Treasury.
- 9 A recorded vote has been requested. The clerk will
- 10 call the roll.
- 11 The Clerk. Senator Rockefeller.
- 12 Senator Rockefeller. Aye.
- 13 The Clerk. Senator Wyden.
- 14 Senator Wyden. Aye.
- The Clerk. Senator Schumer.
- 16 Senator Schumer. Aye.
- 17 The Clerk. Senator Stabenow.
- 18 Senator Stabenow. Aye.
- 19 The Clerk. Senator Cantwell.
- 20 Senator Cantwell. Aye.
- 21 The Clerk. Senator Nelson.
- 22 Senator Nelson. Aye.
- The Clerk. Senator Menendez.
- Senator Menendez. Aye.
- 25 The Clerk. Senator Carper.

1 Senator	Carper.	Aye.
-----------	---------	------

- 2 The Clerk. Senator Cardin.
- 3 Senator Cardin. Aye.
- 4 The Clerk. Senator Brown.
- 5 Senator Brown. Aye.
- The Clerk. Senator Bennet.
- 7 Senator Bennet. Aye.
- 8 The Clerk. Senator Casey.
- 9 Senator Casey. Aye.
- 10 The Clerk. Senator Hatch.
- 11 Senator Hatch. Aye.
- 12 The Clerk. Senator Grassley.
- 13 Senator Grassley. Aye.
- 14 The Clerk. Senator Crapo.
- 15 Senator Crapo. Aye.
- 16 The Clerk. Senator Roberts.
- 17 Senator Roberts. Aye.
- 18 The Clerk. Senator Enzi.
- 19 Senator Enzi. Aye.
- 20 The Clerk. Senator Cornyn.
- 21 Senator Cornyn. Aye.
- The Clerk. Senator Thune.
- 23 Senator Thune. Aye.
- 24 The Clerk. Senator Burr.
- 25 Senator Burr. Aye.

- 1 The Clerk. Senator Isakson.
- 2 Senator Isakson. Aye.
- 3 The Clerk. Senator Portman.
- 4 Senator Portman. Aye.
- 5 The Clerk. Senator Toomey.
- 6 Senator Hatch. Aye by proxy.
- 7 The Clerk. Mr. Chairman.
- 8 The Chairman. Aye.
- 9 The Clerk. The final tally including proxies is 24
- 10 ayes, 0 nays.
- 11 The Chairman. The ayes have it. The nomination of
- 12 Ms. Raskin is ordered favorably reported.
- 13 The committee will now consider the nomination of
- 14 Rhonda Schnare Schmidtlein, of Missouri, to be a Member
- of the United States International Trade Commission.
- A recorded vote has been requested. The clerk will call
- 17 the roll.
- 18 The Clerk. Senator Rockefeller.
- 19 Senator Rockefeller. Aye.
- The Clerk. Senator Wyden.
- 21 Senator Wyden. Aye.
- The Clerk. Senator Schumer.
- 23 Senator Schumer. Aye.
- The Clerk. Senator Stabenow.
- 25 Senator Stabenow. Aye.

1 The Clerk. Senator Cant	:well.
---------------------------	--------

- 2 Senator Cantwell. Aye.
- 3 The Clerk. Senator Nelson.
- 4 Senator Nelson. Aye.
- 5 The Clerk. Senator Menendez.
- 6 Senator Menendez. Aye.
- 7 The Clerk. Senator Carper.
- 8 Senator Carper. Aye.
- 9 The Clerk. Senator Cardin.
- 10 Senator Cardin. Aye.
- 11 The Clerk. Senator Brown.
- 12 Senator Brown. Aye.
- 13 The Clerk. Senator Bennet.
- 14 Senator Bennet. Aye.
- 15 The Clerk. Senator Casey.
- 16 Senator Casey. Aye.
- 17 The Clerk. Senator Hatch.
- 18 Senator Hatch. Aye.
- 19 The Clerk. Senator Grassley.
- 20 Senator Grassley. Aye.
- 21 The Clerk. Senator Crapo.
- 22 Senator Crapo. Aye.
- 23 The Clerk. Senator Roberts.
- 24 Senator Roberts. Aye.
- The Clerk. Senator Enzi.

1	Senator Enzi. Aye.
2	The Clerk. Senator Cornyn.
3	Senator Cornyn. Aye.
4	The Clerk. Senator Thune.
5	Senator Thune. Aye.
6	The Clerk. Senator Burr.
7	Senator Burr. Aye.
8	The Clerk. Senator Isakson.
9	Senator Isakson. Aye.
10	The Clerk. Senator Portman.
11	Senator Portman. Aye.
12	The Clerk. Senator Toomey.
13	Senator Hatch. Aye by proxy.
14	The Clerk. Mr. Chairman.
15	The Chairman. Aye.
16	The Clerk. The final tally including proxies is 24
17	ayes, 0 nays.
18	The Chairman. The ayes have it. The nomination of
19	Ms. Schmidtlein is ordered favorably reported.
20	The meeting is adjourned.
21	[Whereupon, at 12:55 p.m., the meeting was
22	concluded.]
23	
24	

25