1 OPEN EXECUTIVE SESSION TO CONSIDER FAVORABLY REPORTING 2 THE NOMINATION OF COURTNEY DUNBAR JONES, OF VIRGINIA, TO 3 BE JUDGE OF THE UNITED STATES TAX COURT FOR A TERM OF 4 FIFTEEN YEARS

5 THURSDAY, DECEMBER 13, 2018

6 U.S. Senate,

7 Committee on Finance,

8 Washington, DC.

9 The executive session was convened, pursuant to 10 notice, at 1:45 p.m., in room S-216, The President's 11 Room, United States Capitol, Hon. Orrin G. Hatch 12 (chairman of the committee) presiding.

Present: Senators Grassley, Crapo, Roberts, Enzi,
Cornyn, Thune, Burr Isakson, Portman, Toomey, Heller,
Scott, Cassidy, Wyden, Stabenow, Cantwell, Nelson,
Menendez, Carper, Cardin, Brown, Bennet, Casey, Warner,
McCaskill, and Whitehouse.

18 Also present: Republican Staff: Nicholas Wyatt,
19 Tax and Nomination Professional Staff Member.

Democratic Staff: Michael Evans, Chief Counsel; Ian
Nicholson, Investigator. Non-designated staff: Joshua
LeVasseur, Chief Clerk and Historian; Athena Schritz,
Hearing Clerk.

24

LISA DENNIS COURT REPORTING

1 The Chairman. The Committee will come to order. I 2 thank my colleagues for making it out here to today's 3 executive session. This afternoon we will consider the nomination of 4 Courtney Dunbar Jones to be a Judge of the United States 5 6 Tax Court. 7 I would entertain a motion to favorably report the 8 nomination of Ms. Jones. 9 Senator Grassley. So moved. 10 The Chairman. The clerk will call the roll. 11 The Clerk. Mr. Grassley? 12 Senator Grassley. Aye. 13 The Clerk. Mr. Crapo? 14 Senator Crapo. Aye. 15 The Clerk. Mr. Roberts? 16 Senator Roberts. Aye. 17 The Clerk. Mr. Enzi? 18 Senator Enzi. Aye. 19 The Clerk. Mr. Cornyn? 20 Senator Cornyn. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Thune? 21 22 Senator Thune. Aye. 23 The Clerk. Mr. Burr? 24 Senator Burr. Aye. 25 The Clerk. Mr. Isakson?

2

1	Senator Is	sakson.	Aye.
2	The Clerk	. Mr.	Portman?
3	Senator Po	ortman.	Aye.
4	The Clerk	. Mr.	Toomey?
5	Senator To	oomey.	Aye.
6	The Clerk	. Mr.	Heller?
7	Senator He	eller.	Aye.
8	The Clerk	. Mr.	Scott?
9	Senator So	cott.	Aye.
10	The Clerk	. Mr.	Cassidy?
11	Senator Ca	assidy.	Aye.
12	The Clerk	. Mr.	Wyden?
13	Senator W	yden.	Aye.
14	The Clerk	. Ms.	Stabenow?
15	Senator S	tabenow.	Aye.
16	The Clerk	. Ms.	Cantwell?
17	Senator Ca	antwell.	Aye.
18	The Clerk	. Mr.	Nelson?
19	Senator Ne	elson.	Aye.
20	The Clerk	. Mr. 1	Menendez?
21	Senator Me	enendez.	Aye.
22	The Clerk	. Mr.	Carper?
23	Senator Ca	arper.	Aye.
24	The Clerk	. Mr. C	ardin?
25	Senator Ca	ardin.	Aye.

1	The Clerk. Mr. Brown?
2	Senator Brown. Aye.
3	The Clerk. Mr. Bennet?
4	Senator Bennet. Aye.
5	The Clerk. Mr. Casey?
6	Senator Casey. Aye.
7	The Clerk. Mr. Warner?
8	Senator Warner. Aye.
9	The Clerk. Mrs. McCaskill?
10	Senator McCaskill. Aye.
11	The Clerk. Senator Whitehouse?
12	Senator Whitehouse. Aye.
13	The Clerk. Mr. Chairman?
14	The Chairman. Aye.
15	The clerk will announce the vote.
16	The Clerk. Mr. Chairman, the final tally is 27
17	ayes and 0 nays.
18	The Chairman. It appears that the ayes have it.
19	The nomination is ordered favorably reported
20	I thank my colleagues for their.
21	[Whereupon, at 2:15 p.m., the meeting was
22	adjourned.]

LISA DENNIS COURT REPORTING

А