OPEN EXECUTIVE SESSION TO CONSIDER FAVORABLY REPORTING THE NOMINATIONS OF AMY KARPEL, OF WASHINGTON, TO BE A MEMBER OF THE UNITED STATES INTERNATIONAL TRADE COMMISSION FOR A TERM EXPIRING JUNE 16, 2023; AND RANDOLPH STAYIN, OF VIRGINIA, TO BE A MEMBER OF THE UNITED STATES INTERNATIONAL TRADE COMMISSION FOR A TERM EXPIRING JUNE 16, 2026.

TUESDAY, JUNE 11, 2019

U.S. Senate,

Committee on Finance,

Washington, DC.

The executive session was convened, pursuant to notice, at 4 p.m., in room S-216, The President's Room, United States Capitol, Hon. Chuck Grassley (chairman of the committee) presiding.

Present: Senators Crapo, Roberts, Enzi, Cornyn, Thune, Burr, Isakson, Portman, Toomey, Scott, Cassidy, Lankford, Daines, Young, Wyden, Stabenow, Cantwell, Menendez, Carper, Cardin, Brown, Bennet, Casey, Warner, Whitehouse, Hassan, and Cortez Masto.

Also present: Republican staff: Nicholas Wyatt, Tax, Infrastructure, and Nominations Policy Advisor. Democratic staff: Ian Nicholson, Investigator. Nondesignated staff: Joshua LeVasseur, Chief Clerk and Historian; Jewel Harper, Senior Deputy Clerk; Susanna Segal, Deputy Clerk; and Athena Schritz, Hearing Clerk.

The Chairman. The committee will come to order. I appreciate everyone being here for this afternoon's executive session.

We have two nominations before us. The first is the nomination of Amy Karpel to be a member of the United States Trade Commission. I would entertain a motion to favorably report the nomination of Ms. Karpel.

Senator Wyden. So moved. The Chairman. The clerk will call the roll. The Clerk. Mr. Crapo? Senator Crapo. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Roberts? Senator Roberts. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Enzi? Senator Enzi. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Cornyn? Senator Cornyn. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Thune? Senator Thune. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Burr? Senator Burr. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Isakson? Senator Isakson. Aye.

2

The Clerk. Mr. Portman? Senator Portman. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Toomey? Senator Toomey. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Scott? Senator Scott. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Cassidy? Senator Cassidy. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Lankford? Senator Lankford. Present. The Clerk. Mr. Daines? Senator Daines. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Young? Senator Young. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Wyden? Senator Wyden. Aye. The Clerk. Ms. Stabenow? Senator Stabenow. Aye. The Clerk. Ms. Cantwell? Senator Cantwell. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Menendez? Senator Menendez. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Carper? Senator Carper. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Cardin?

Senator Cardin. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Brown? Senator Brown. Ave. The Clerk. Mr. Bennet? Senator Bennet. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Casey? Senator Casey. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Warner? Senator Warner. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Whitehouse? Senator Whitehouse. Aye. The Clerk. Ms. Hassan? Senator Hassan. Aye. The Clerk. Ms. Cortez Masto? Senator Cortez Masto. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Chairman? The Chairman. Aye. The clerk will announce the vote. The Clerk. Mr. Chairman, the final tally is 27

ayes, 0 nays, and 1 present.

The Chairman. The "ayes" have it. The nomination is ordered favorably reported.

The next nomination is Randolph Stayin to be a member of the United States International Trade Commission. I would entertain a motion to favorably report the nomination of Mr. Stayin.

Senator Wyden. So moved. The Chairman. The clerk will call the roll. The Clerk. Mr. Crapo? Senator Crapo. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Roberts? Senator Roberts. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Enzi? Senator Enzi. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Cornyn? Senator Cornyn. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Thune? Senator Thune. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Burr? Senator Burr. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Isakson? Senator Isakson. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Portman? Senator Portman. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Toomey? Senator Toomey. Present. The Clerk. Mr. Scott? Senator Scott. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Cassidy? Senator Cassidy. Aye.

The Clerk. Mr. Lankford? Senator Lankford. Present. The Clerk. Mr. Daines? Senator Daines. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Young? Senator Young. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Wyden? Senator Wyden. Aye. The Clerk. Ms. Stabenow? Senator Stabenow. Aye. The Clerk. Ms. Cantwell? Senator Cantwell. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Menendez? Senator Menendez. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Carper? Senator Carper. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Cardin? Senator Cardin. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Brown? Senator Brown. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Bennet? Senator Bennet. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Casey? Senator Casey. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Warner?

Senator Warner. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Whitehouse? Senator Whitehouse. Aye. The Clerk. Ms. Hassan? Senator Hassan. Aye. The Clerk. Ms. Cortez Masto? Senator Cortez Masto. Aye. The Clerk. Mr. Chairman? The Chairman. Aye.

The clerk will announce the vote.

The Clerk. Mr. Chairman, the final tally is 26 ayes, 0 nays, and 2 present.

The Chairman. The "ayes" have it. The nomination is ordered favorably reported. I thank my colleagues for their time. The committee is adjourned.

[Whereupon, at 4:35 p.m., the meeting was adjourned.]