1	OPEN	EXECUTIVE	SESSION	ΤO	CONSIDER	FAVORABLY	REPORTING
_			DIDDION	T (CONDIDIN		

- 2 THE NOMINATIONS OF ANDREW LAMONT EANES, OF KANSAS, TO BE
- 3 DEPUTY COMMISSIONER OF SOCIAL SECURITY FOR THE TERM
- 4 EXPIRING JANUARY 19, 2019; ELIZABETH ANN COPELAND, OF
- 5 TEXAS, TO BE A JUDGE OF THE UNITED STATES TAX COURT FOR A
- 6 TERM OF FIFTEEN YEARS; AND VIK EDWIN STOLL, OF MISSOURI,
- 7 TO BE A JUDGE OF THE UNITED STATES TAX COURT FOR A TERM
- 8 OF FIFTEEN YEARS
- 9 MONDAY, APRIL 18, 2016
- 10 U.S. Senate,
- 11 Committee on Finance,
- 12 Washington, DC.
- 13 The meeting was convened, pursuant to notice, at
- 14 5:30 p.m., in S-216, The President's Room, United States
- 15 Capitol, Hon. Orrin G. Hatch (chairman of the committee)
- 16 presiding.
- 17 Present: Senators Grassley, Roberts, Cornyn,
- 18 Portman, Scott, Wyden, Schumer, Stabenow, Cantwell,
- 19 Nelson, Menendez, Carper, Cardin, Brown, Bennet, Casey,
- and Warner.
- 21 Also present: Republican Staff: Nicholas Wyatt, Tax
- 22 and Nominations Professional Staff Member. Democratic
- 23 Staff: Mike Evans, General Counsel; and Ian Nicholson,
- 24 Investigator. Non-Designated Staff: Joshua LeVasseur,
- 25 Chief Clerk; Jewel Harper, Deputy Clerk; Bryan Palmer,
- Deputy Clerk; and Athena Schritz, Hearing Clerk.
 LISA DENNIS COURT REPORTING
 410-729-0401

- 1 The Chairman. The committee will come to order. The 2 committee meets today to consider one nomination. I now
- 3 entertain a motion that the committee favorably report
- 4 the nomination.
- 5 Senator Wyden. So moved.
- 6 The Chairman. First the committee will consider the
- 7 nomination of Andrew LaMont Eanes, of Kansas, to be
- 8 Deputy Commissioner of Social Security.
- 9 A recorded vote has been requested. The clerk will
- 10 call the roll.
- 11 The Clerk. Senator Grassley.
- 12 Senator Grassley. Aye.
- 13 The Clerk. Senator Crapo.
- 14 The Chairman. No by Proxy.
- 15 The Clerk. Senator Roberts.
- 16 Senator Roberts. Aye.
- 17 The Clerk. Senator Enzi.
- 18 The Chairman. Aye by Proxy.
- 19 The Clerk. Senator Cornyn.
- 20 Senator Cornyn. Aye.
- 21 The Clerk. Senator Thune.
- The Chairman. Aye by Proxy.
- The Clerk. Senator Burr.
- 24 The Chairman. Aye by Proxy.
- 25 The Clerk. Senator Isakson.

1	The	Chairman.	Aye	by	Proxy.
---	-----	-----------	-----	----	--------

- 2 The Clerk. Senator Portman.
- 3 Senator Portman. Aye.
- 4 The Clerk. Senator Toomey.
- 5 The Chairman. Aye by Proxy.
- 6 The Clerk. Senator Coats.
- 7 The Chairman. Aye by Proxy.
- 8 The Clerk. Senator Heller.
- 9 The Chairman. Aye by Proxy.
- 10 The Clerk. Senator Scott.
- 11 Senator Scott. Aye.
- 12 The Clerk. Senator Wyden.
- 13 Senator Wyden. Aye.
- 14 The Clerk. Senator Schumer.
- 15 Senator Schumer. Aye.
- 16 The Clerk. Senator Stabenow.
- 17 Senator Stabenow. Aye.
- 18 The Clerk. Senator Cantwell.
- 19 Senator Cantwell. Aye.
- The Clerk. Senator Nelson.
- 21 Senator Nelson. Aye.
- The Clerk. Senator Menendez.
- 23 Senator Menendez. Aye.
- 24 The Clerk. Senator Carper.
- 25 Senator Carper. Aye.

- 1 The Clerk. Senator Cardin.
- 2 Senator Cardin. Aye.
- 3 The Clerk. Senator Brown.
- 4 Senator Brown. Aye.
- 5 The Clerk. Senator Bennet.
- 6 Senator Bennet. Aye.
- 7 The Clerk. Senator Casey.
- 8 Senator Casey. Aye.
- 9 The Clerk. Senator Warner.
- 10 Senator Warner. Aye.
- 11 The Clerk. Mr. Chairman.
- 12 The Chairman. Aye.
- 13 The Clerk. The final tally including proxies is 25
- 14 ayes, 1 nay.
- 15 The Chairman. The ayes have it. The nomination of
- 16 Mr. Eanes is ordered favorably reported.
- 17 The committee will now consider the nomination
- 18 Elizabeth Ann Copeland, of Texas, to be a Judge of the
- 19 United States Tax Court for a term of fifteen years.
- 20 A recorded vote has been requested. The clerk will call
- 21 the roll.
- The Clerk. Senator Grassley.
- 23 Senator Grassley. Aye.
- 24 The Clerk. Senator Crapo.
- The Chairman. Aye by Proxy.

1 The Clerk. Senator Robe

- 2 Senator Roberts. Aye.
- 3 The Clerk. Senator Enzi.
- 4 The Chairman. Aye by Proxy.
- 5 The Clerk. Senator Cornyn.
- 6 Senator Cornyn. Aye.
- 7 The Clerk. Senator Thune.
- 8 The Chairman. Aye by Proxy.
- 9 The Clerk. Senator Burr.
- 10 The Chairman. Aye by Proxy.
- 11 The Clerk. Senator Isakson.
- 12 The Chairman. Aye by Proxy.
- 13 The Clerk. Senator Portman.
- 14 Senator Portman. Aye.
- 15 The Clerk. Senator Toomey.
- 16 The Chairman. Aye by Proxy.
- 17 The Clerk. Senator Coats.
- 18 The Chairman. Aye by Proxy.
- 19 The Clerk. Senator Heller.
- 20 The Chairman. Aye by Proxy.
- 21 The Clerk. Senator Scott.
- 22 Senator Scott. Aye.
- 23 The Clerk. Senator Wyden.
- 24 Senator Wyden. Aye.
- The Clerk. Senator Schumer.

- 1 Senator Schumer. Aye.
- 2 The Clerk. Senator Stabenow.
- 3 Senator Stabenow. Aye.
- 4 The Clerk. Senator Cantwell.
- 5 Senator Cantwell. Aye.
- 6 The Clerk. Senator Nelson.
- 7 Senator Nelson. Aye.
- 8 The Clerk. Senator Menendez.
- 9 Senator Menendez. Aye.
- 10 The Clerk. Senator Carper.
- 11 Senator Carper. Aye.
- 12 The Clerk. Senator Cardin.
- 13 Senator Cardin. Aye.
- 14 The Clerk. Senator Brown.
- 15 Senator Brown. Aye.
- 16 The Clerk. Senator Bennet.
- 17 Senator Bennet. Aye.
- 18 The Clerk. Senator Casey.
- 19 Senator Casey. Aye.
- The Clerk. Senator Warner.
- 21 Senator Warner. Aye.
- The Clerk. Mr. Chairman.
- The Chairman. Aye.
- 24 The Clerk. The final tally including proxies is 26
- ayes, 0 nays.

- 1 The Chairman. The ayes have it. The nomination of
- 2 Ms. Copeland is ordered favorably reported.
- 3 The committee will now consider the nomination Vik
- 4 Edwin Stoll, of Missouri, to be a Judge of the United
- 5 States Tax Court for a term of fifteen years.
- 6 A recorded vote has been requested. The clerk will call
- 7 the roll.
- 8 The Clerk. Senator Grassley.
- 9 Senator Grassley. Aye.
- 10 The Clerk. Senator Crapo.
- 11 The Chairman. Aye by Proxy.
- 12 The Clerk. Senator Roberts.
- 13 Senator Roberts. Aye.
- 14 The Clerk. Senator Enzi.
- 15 The Chairman. Aye by Proxy.
- 16 The Clerk. Senator Cornyn.
- 17 Senator Cornyn. Aye.
- 18 The Clerk. Senator Thune.
- 19 The Chairman. Aye by Proxy.
- 20 The Clerk. Senator Burr.
- 21 The Chairman. Aye by Proxy.
- 22 The Clerk. Senator Isakson.
- The Chairman. Aye by Proxy.
- 24 The Clerk. Senator Portman.
- 25 Senator Portman. Aye.

1 The	Clerk.	Senator	Toomey.
-------	--------	---------	---------

- 2 The Chairman. Aye by Proxy.
- 3 The Clerk. Senator Coats.
- 4 The Chairman. Aye by Proxy.
- 5 The Clerk. Senator Heller.
- 6 The Chairman. Aye by Proxy.
- 7 The Clerk. Senator Scott.
- 8 Senator Scott. Aye.
- 9 The Clerk. Senator Wyden.
- 10 Senator Wyden. Aye.
- 11 The Clerk. Senator Schumer.
- 12 Senator Schumer. Aye.
- 13 The Clerk. Senator Stabenow.
- 14 Senator Stabenow. Aye.
- 15 The Clerk. Senator Cantwell.
- 16 Senator Cantwell. Aye.
- 17 The Clerk. Senator Nelson.
- 18 Senator Nelson. Aye.
- 19 The Clerk. Senator Menendez.
- 20 Senator Menendez. Aye.
- 21 The Clerk. Senator Carper.
- 22 Senator Carper. Aye.
- 23 The Clerk. Senator Cardin.
- 24 Senator Cardin. Aye.
- 25 The Clerk. Senator Brown.

- 1 Senator Brown. Aye.
- 2 The Clerk. Senator Bennet.
- 3 Senator Bennet. Aye.
- 4 The Clerk. Senator Casey.
- 5 Senator Casey. Aye.
- 6 The Clerk. Senator Warner.
- 7 Senator Warner. Aye.
- 8 The Clerk. Mr. Chairman.
- 9 The Chairman. Aye.
- 10 The Clerk. The final tally including proxies is 26
- 11 ayes, 0 nays.
- 12 The Chairman. The ayes have it. The nomination of
- 13 Mr. Stoll is ordered favorably reported.
- 14 The Meeting is adjourned.
- 15 [Whereupon, at 6:30 p.m., the meeting was
- 16 concluded.]