EXECUTIVE SESSION TO CONSIDER PENDING

NOMINATIONS AND S. J. RES. 47

Friday, July 10, 1998

Off-The-Floor Markup in President's Room, The Capitol

The meeting was convened, pursuant to notice, at 10:10 a.m., in The President's Room (The Capitol), Honorable William v. Roth, Jr., Chairman of the Senate Finance Committee, presiding.

Also present: Senators Chafee, Hatch [during vote on S. J. Res.47], D'Amato, Murkowski, Gramm, Jeffords, Mack, Moynihan, Baucus, Breaux, Conrad, Graham, Moseley-Braun, Kerrey, Bryan.

Also Present: Mr. Franklin G. Polk, Staff Director and Chief Counsel; Mr. Mark Patterson, Minority Staff Director and Chief Counsel.

Also present: Ms. Joan Woodward, Economist and Chief Budget Analyst; Mr. Grant Aldonas, Chief, International Trade Counsel; Mr. Faryar Shirzad, International Trade Counsel; Ms. Debbie Lamb, Minority Chief International Trade Counsel; Ms. Linda Menghetti, Minority Trade Counsel; and, Ms. Mary Jane Butterfield, Chief Clerk.

Mr. Chairman. Since we have a quorum present, I move the Finance Committee go into Executive Session to vote on the nominees still pending before the Committee and on S.J. Res. 47, the Resolution of Disapproval of the Jackson/Vanik Waiver with respect to Vietman.

The first vote will be to favorably report the nominations of:

Raymond W. Kelly, to be Commissioner of Customs;

James E. Johnson, to be Under Secretary of the Treasury for Enforcement; and, Elizabeth Bresee, to be Assistant Secretary of the Treasury.

If there is no objection, I ask that the three nominations be considered en bloc.

There being no objection, all those in favor say "aye." Those opposed, say "nay.

The "ayes" have it. The nominations will be reported.

[Note: Mr. Hatch was not present at the nomination vote.]

Mr. Chairman. The second vote will be on unfavorably reporting the

Resolution of Disapproval of the Jackson/Vanik Waiver with

respect to Vietnam. There has been a request to have a roll call vote on S.J. Res. 47.

Resolution of Disapproval of the Jackson/Vanik Waiver with respect to Vietman.

Mr. Chafee. I would like to have clarification about the vote. A yes vote means we agree to report the resolution *unfavorably* and a no vote is to disagree to reporting the resolution unfavorably?

Mr. Chairman. Yes, that is correct. A yes vote is to unfavorably report S. J. Res. 47.

Mr. Chafee. Okay. Thank you.

Mr. Chairman. The Clerk will call the roll.

The Clerk.

Mr. Chafee?

Senator Chafee.

Aye.

The Clerk.

Mr. Grassley?

Senator. Grassley.

[not present]

The Clerk.

Mr. Hatch?

Senator Hatch.

[not present]

The Clerk.

Mr. D'Amato?

Senator D'Amato.

Aye.

The Clerk.

Mr. Murkowski?

Senator Murkowski.

Aye.

The Clerk.

Mr. Nickles?

Senator Nickles.

[not present]

The Clerk.

Mr. Gramm?

Senator Gramm.

Aye.

The Clerk.

Mr. Lott?

Senator Lott.

[not present]

The Clerk.

Mr. Jeffords?

Senator Jeffords.

Aye.

The Clerk.

Mr. Mack?

Senator Mack.

Aye.

The Clerk.

Mr. Moynihan?

Senator Baucus.

Aye by proxy.

Senator Moynihan.

I'm here. [laughter] Aye.

The Clerk.

Mr. Baucus?

Senator Baucus.

Aye.

The Clerk.

Mr. Rockefeller

Senator Rockefeller.

[not present]

The Clerk.

Mr. Breaux?

Senator Breaux.

Aye.

The Clerk.

Mr. Conrad?

Senator Conrad.

Aye.

The Clerk.

Mr. Graham?

Senator Graham.

Aye.

The Clerk.

Ms. Moseley-Braun?

Senator Moseley-Braun.

No.

The Clerk.

Mr. Bryan?

Senator Bryan.

[not present]

The Clerk.

Mr. Kerrey?

Senator Kerrey.

Aye.

The Clerk.

Mr. Chairman?

Mr. Chairman.

Aye.

The Clerk. Have I missed anyone? The votes are...

Senator Hatch. I wish to be recorded as yes. [Mr. Hatch entered The President's

Room after his name had been called.]

The Clerk. The votes are 14 yeas, 1 nay.

Mr. Chairman. The Committee has agreed to unfavorably report S. J. Res. 47.

Senator Moynihan. Well done.

[Whereupon the Committee concluded business at approximately 10:30 a.m.]

Reported by the Chief Clerk, Ms. Mary Jane Butterfield.