- 1 OPEN EXECUTIVE SESSION TO CONSIDER FAVORABLY REPORTING
- THE NOMINATIONS OF DENNIS SHEA, OF VIRGINIA, TO BE DEPUTY
- 3 UNITED STATES TRADE REPRESENTATIVE (GENEVA OFFICE), WITH
- 4 THE RANK OF AMBASSADOR; AND C.J. MAHONEY, OF KANSAS, TO
- 5 BE DEPUTY UNITED STATES TRADE REPRESENTATIVE (INVESTMENT,
- 6 SERVICES, LABOR, ENVIRONMENT, AFRICA, CHINA, AND THE
- 7 WESTERN HEMISPHERE), WITH THE RANK OF AMBASSADOR
- 8 THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 15, 2018
- 9 U.S. Senate,
- 10 Committee on Finance,
- 11 Washington, DC.
- 12 The meeting was convened, pursuant to notice, at
- 2:30 p.m., in S-216, The President's Room, United States
- Capitol, Hon. Orrin G. Hatch (chairman of the committee)
- 15 presiding.
- 16 Present: Senators Grassley, Crapo, Roberts, Enzi,
- 17 Cornyn, Thune, Burr, Isakson, Portman, Toomey, Heller,
- 18 Scott, Cassidy, Wyden, Stabenow, Cantwell, Nelson,
- 19 Menendez, Carper, Cardin, Brown, Bennet, Casey, Warner,
- 20 McCaskill, and Whitehouse.
- 21 Also present: Republican Staff: Nicholas Wyatt, Tax
- 22 and Nominations Professional Staff Member. Democratic
- 23 Staff: Ian Nicholson, Investigator. Non-Designated
- 24 Staff: Joshua LeVasseur, Chief Clerk; Jewel Harper,
- Deputy Clerk; Athena Schritz, Hearing Clerk; and Timothy
- 26 Corley, Staff Assistant.

- 1 The Chairman. The committee will come to order. The
- 2 committee meets today to consider two nominations. I now
- 3 entertain a motion that the committee favorably report
- 4 the nomination of Dennis Shea.
- 5 Senator Wyden. So moved.
- 6 The Chairman. A recorded vote has been requested.
- 7 The clerk will call the roll.
- 8 The Clerk. Senator Grassley.
- 9 Senator Grassley. Aye.
- 10 The Clerk. Senator Crapo.
- 11 Senator Crapo. Aye.
- 12 The Clerk. Senator Roberts.
- 13 Senator Roberts. Aye.
- 14 The Clerk. Senator Enzi.
- 15 Senator Enzi. Aye.
- 16 The Clerk. Senator Cornyn.
- 17 Senator Cornyn. Aye.
- 18 The Clerk. Senator Thune.
- 19 Senator Thune. Aye.
- 20 The Clerk. Senator Burr.
- 21 Senator Burr. Aye.
- The Clerk. Senator Isakson.
- 23 Senator Isakson. Aye.
- 24 The Clerk. Senator Portman.
- 25 Senator Portman. Aye.
- The Clerk. Senator Toomey.

- 1 Senator Toomey. Aye.
- 2 The Clerk. Senator Heller.
- 3 Senator Heller. Aye.
- 4 The Clerk. Senator Scott.
- 5 Senator Scott. Aye.
- 6 The Clerk. Senator Cassidy.
- 7 Senator Cassidy. Aye.
- 8 The Clerk. Senator Wyden.
- 9 Senator Wyden. Aye.
- 10 The Clerk. Senator Stabenow.
- 11 Senator Stabenow. Aye.
- 12 The Clerk. Senator Cantwell.
- 13 Senator Cantwell. Aye.
- 14 The Clerk. Senator Nelson.
- 15 Senator Nelson. Aye.
- 16 The Clerk. Senator Menendez.
- 17 Senator Menendez. Aye.
- 18 The Clerk. Senator Carper.
- 19 Senator Carper. Aye.
- The Clerk. Senator Cardin.
- 21 Senator Cardin. Aye.
- The Clerk. Senator Brown.
- 23 Senator Brown. Aye.
- 24 The Clerk. Senator Bennet.
- 25 Senator Bennet. Aye.
- 26 The Clerk. Senator Casey.

- 1 Senator Casey. Aye.
- 2 The Clerk. Senator Warner.
- 3 Senator Warner. Aye.
- 4 The Clerk. Senator McCaskill.
- 5 Senator McCaskill. Aye.
- 6 The Clerk. Senator Whitehouse.
- 7 Senator Whitehouse. Aye.
- 8 The Clerk. Mr. Chairman.
- 9 The Chairman. Aye.
- 10 The Clerk. The final tally is 27 ayes, 0 nays.
- 11 The Chairman. The ayes have it. The nomination of
- 12 Mr. Shea is ordered favorably reported.
- 13 The committee will now consider the nomination Mr.
- 14 Mahoney. A recorded vote has been requested. The clerk
- will call the roll.
- 16 The Clerk. Senator Grassley.
- 17 Senator Grassley. Aye.
- 18 The Clerk. Senator Crapo.
- 19 Senator Crapo. Aye.
- 20 The Clerk. Senator Roberts.
- 21 Senator Roberts. Aye.
- The Clerk. Senator Enzi.
- 23 Senator Enzi. Aye.
- 24 The Clerk. Senator Cornyn.
- 25 Senator Cornyn. Aye.
- The Clerk. Senator Thune.

- 1 Senator Thune. Aye.
- 2 The Clerk. Senator Burr.
- 3 Senator Burr. Aye.
- 4 The Clerk. Senator Isakson.
- 5 Senator Isakson. Aye.
- The Clerk. Senator Portman.
- 7 Senator Portman. Aye.
- 8 The Clerk. Senator Toomey.
- 9 Senator Toomey. Aye.
- 10 The Clerk. Senator Heller.
- 11 Senator Heller. Aye.
- 12 The Clerk. Senator Scott.
- 13 Senator Scott. Aye.
- 14 The Clerk. Senator Cassidy.
- 15 Senator Cassidy. Aye.
- 16 The Clerk. Senator Wyden.
- 17 Senator Wyden. Aye.
- 18 The Clerk. Senator Stabenow.
- 19 Senator Stabenow. Aye.
- The Clerk. Senator Cantwell.
- 21 Senator Cantwell. Aye.
- The Clerk. Senator Nelson.
- 23 Senator Nelson. Aye.
- The Clerk. Senator Menendez.
- 25 Senator Menendez. Aye.
- 26 The Clerk. Senator Carper.

- 1 Senator Carper. Aye.
- 2 The Clerk. Senator Cardin.
- 3 Senator Cardin. Aye.
- 4 The Clerk. Senator Brown.
- 5 Senator Brown. Aye.
- 6 The Clerk. Senator Bennet.
- 7 Senator Bennet. Aye.
- 8 The Clerk. Senator Casey.
- 9 Senator Casey. Aye.
- 10 The Clerk. Senator Warner.
- 11 Senator Warner. Aye.
- 12 The Clerk. Senator McCaskill.
- 13 Senator McCaskill. Aye.
- 14 The Clerk. Senator Whitehouse.
- 15 Senator Whitehouse. Aye.
- 16 The Clerk. Mr. Chairman.
- 17 The Chairman. Aye.
- The Clerk. The final tally is 27 ayes, 0 nays.
- 19 The Chairman. The ayes have it. The nomination of
- 20 Mr. Mahoney is ordered favorably reported.
- I thank all Senators, and with that, the meeting is
- 22 adjourned.
- [Whereupon, at 3 p.m., the meeting was concluded.]