August 14,2001

Baucus Announces Field Hearing on Energy Taxes

Hearing: The Role of Tax Incentives in Addressing Rural Energy Needs and Conservation
Date/Time: August 24, 2001, at 9:30 a.m.
Location: Fortin Education Center, Auditorium, Rocky Mountain College, Billings, Montana

Description: Chairman Baucus announced a field hearing in Montana that would focus on the role of tax incentives in addressing rural energy needs and conservation. The Montana field hearing seeks to raise energy development issues of particular significance in rural and western states.The hearing will identify tax provisions affecting rural electric cooperatives, transmission infrastructure and Indian tribes, as well as targeted tax incentives for clean coal technology, renewable and alternative energy resources, and the natural gas industry. It is hoped that the August 24 hearing will provide guidance on when tax incentives are appropriate tools for achieving energy policy objectives, and which of those objectives are most immediate in Montana and other rural areas,including a specific focus on Tribal lands.

Witness List

A Panel Consisting of:

Mr. Bob Anderson, Commissioner, Montana Public Service Commission, Helena, MT;

Mr. William Pascoe, Vice President, Montana Power Company, Butte, MT;

Ms. Nancy Hirsh, Policy Director, Northwest Energy Coalition, Seattle, WA;

Mr. Terry Holzer, General Manager, Yellowstone Valley Electric Cooperative, Huntley,MT;

Mr. Darwin Subart, Executive Vice-President and General Manager, WBI Southern, Inc.,Denver, CO;

A Panel Consisting of:
Mr. Ron Harper, Chief Executive Officer and General Manager, Basin Electric Power Cooperative, Bismark, ND;

Ms. Gina Sewell, Tax Manager, Devon Energy Corporation, Oklahoma City, OK;

Mr. Dale Horton, Program Manager, National Center for Appropriate Technology, Butte,MT;

A Panel Consisting of:
Mr. Wes Martel, Shoshone Business Council, Fort Washakie, MT;

Mr. Dennis Fitzpatrick, Siyeh Delevopment Corporation, Browning, MT;

The Honorable Arlyn Headdress, Chairman, Fort Peck Tribal Executive Board, Poplar,MT.