December 17,2011

Press Contact:

Communications Office

Baucus Applauds Committee Passage of Treasury, Tax Court and Social Security Nominations

Finance Chair: Nominees will Help Uphold Tax Laws, Create Jobs and Protect Social Security

Washington, DCSenate Finance Committee Chairman Max Baucus (D-Mont.) today led the Committee’s approval of four nominations: Mary John Miller to be Under Secretary for Domestic Finance at the Department of Treasury; Alastair Fitzpayne to be Deputy Under Secretary for Legislative Affairs at the Department of Treasury; Kathleen Kerrigan to be a Judge of the United States Tax Court; and Henry Aaron to be a Member of the Social Security Advisory Board.  Baucus voiced strong support for all of the nominees at a hearing on November 17.  Miller, Fitzpayne and Kerrigan were approved unanimously.  Aaron was approved 16 to 8.

“These nominees approved today will play key roles in helping to improve our economy, strengthen Social Security and guard the rights of taxpayers.” said Baucus.  “At the Treasury Department, Mary Miller will work to boost our economy and create jobs by improving the financial industry.  Alastair Fitzpayne will help increase the collaboration between Congress and the Department of Treasury so they can work together to create jobs and move our economy forward.  Kathleen Kerrigan will use her vast experience to apply tax law fairly at the Tax Court.  Henry Aaron will ensure Social Security is preserved for generations of seniors to come.”

Mary Miller is currently the Assistant Secretary of the Treasury for Financial Markets.  In addition to private sector experience, she previously advised Congressman Robert Young of Missouri.  Miller earned a Bachelor’s degree from Cornell University and her Master’s from the University of North Carolina. If confirmed as Under Secretary for Domestic Finance, Miller will provide advice on critical issues pertaining to financial institutions, fiscal policy and operations, and the federal debt.

Alastair Fitzpayne has been the Treasury Department’s deputy chief of staff since January 2009.  He has over a decade in tax, budget and financial policy advising experience, including advising former Rep. Rahm Emanuel during his time on the House Ways and Means Committee.  Prior to that, Fitzpayne was a Presidential Management Intern at the Office of Management and Budget.  He holds a Bachelor’s degree from Vassar College and a Master’s degree in Public Policy from the UC Berkeley.  If confirmed as Deputy Under Secretary for Legislative Affairs at the Department of Treasury, Fitzpayne will serve as the principal contact and coordinator for all Department interaction with Congress.

Kathleen Kerrigan is currently the tax counsel to Senator Kerry.  Kerrigan is a graduate of Boston College and holds a law degree from Notre Dame.  As a Judge on the United States Tax Court, she would help ensure the fair administration of our tax laws.

Harry Aaron is a Senior Fellow at the Brookings Institution of Economic Studies Program, which he directed from 1990 to 1996.  Dr. Aaron has three decades of policy experience.  He served as the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation at the Department of Health, Education and Welfare, and chaired the 1979 Advisory Council on Social Security.  He previously taught at the University of Maryland and at Harvard.  He earned his Bachelor’s degree from U.C.L.A and his Master’s and Doctorate degrees from Harvard.  As a Member of the Social Security Advisory Board, Aaron would play a key role in counseling Congress and the President on Social Security issues.