October 02,2008

Senate Confirms Montana’s Ed Eck For Full Term On IRS Oversight Board

University of Montana Dean will serve full five-year term

Washington, DC – Senate Finance Committee Chairman Max Baucus (D-Mont.) today applauded Senate confirmation of E. Edwin Eck II to a full five-year term on the Internal Revenue Service Oversight Board. Eck’s original nomination was unanimously approved by the Senate on July 7, 2008. He required Senate confirmation again because he was appointed in July to a term that began September 15, 2003 and expired September 14,2008. His new term will end September 14, 2013.

“Having a full five-year term will give Dean Eck the time needed to tackle the challenges the IRS oversight board is facing today,” Baucus said. “Ed has an indepth understanding of tax issues facing rural and under-served areas in this country, and a proven track record as a successful professor and administrator.I’m very pleased that the Senate has confirmed such a well-qualified candidate tothis important position.”

Dean Eck was raised in Lewistown, Mont., graduated from Carleton College, then went on to obtain a law degree from the University of Montana and an LL.M. in Taxation from Georgetown University. He began teaching at UM in 1981 and was appointed Dean in1995. Baucus, who helped create the IRS Oversight Board in 1998, encouraged theMontana law and tax expert’s nomination to the panel.

Dean Eck has established himself as an expert in estate and charitable tax law and has worked to create a joint JD/MBA program and new certifications in environmental lawand dispute resolution at UM. In addition, he established an initiative that allows law faculty to present programs around the state, reaching out to Montana’s most rural areas.

The IRS Oversight Board consists of nine non-partisan members tasked with supervising the IRS’s execution and application of the internal revenue laws. The Secretary of theTreasury and the Commissioner of Internal Revenue serve on the Board, and the remaining seven members are appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate.Each Presidential appointee serves a five-year term. The nominations are considered by the Senate Finance Committee.

# # #