Full Committee Hearing

Elder Justice: Protecting Seniors from Abuse and Neglect

Date: Tuesday, June 18, 2002 Time: 10:00 AM Location: 215 Dirksen Senate Office Building

Member Statements

  1. Senator Max Baucus (D - MT)
  2.  Chuck Grassley (R - IA)


  1. Robert Blancato
    National Committee for Prevention of Elder Abuse
    Washington , DC
  2. Catherine Hawes, Ph.D.
    Professor, School of Rural Public Health
    Texas A&M University, System Health Science Center
    College Station , TX
  3. Joanne Otto, M.S.W.
    Executive Director
    National Association of Adult Protective Services Administrators
    Boulder , CO
  4. Carmel Dyer, M.D.
    Associate Professor of Medicine, Co-Director
    Bayloe College of Medicine, Texas Elder Abuse and Mistreatment Institute
    Houston , TX
  5. Randolph Thomas, M.A.
    Law Enforcement Instructor, Section Coordinator for Domestic Investigations and Behavioral Science Unit
    South Carolina Department of Public Safety, Criminal Justice Academy
    Columbia , SC
  6. Bonnie Richard, JD
    Committee on National Statistics of the National Research Council
    Charlottesville , VA

Related Files

 How do I submit a statement for the record?

Any individual or organization wanting to present their views for inclusion in the hearing record should submit in a Word document, a single-spaced statement, not exceeding 10 pages in length. No other file type will be accepted for inclusion. Title and date of the hearing, and the full name and address of the individual or organization must appear on the first page of the statement. Statements must be received no later than two weeks following the conclusion of the hearing.

Statements can be emailed to:


Statements should be mailed (not faxed) to:

Senate Committee on Finance
Attn. Editorial and Document Section
Rm. SD-219
Dirksen Senate Office Bldg.
Washington, DC 20510-6200