Subcommittee Hearing

Closing the Tax Gap: Lost Revenue from Noncompliance and the Role of Offshore Tax Evasion

Subcommittee on Taxation and IRS Oversight Date: Tuesday, May 11, 2021 Time: 02:30 PM Location: 215 Dirksen Senate Office Building

Open in New Window


Pursuant to guidance from the CDC and OAP, Senate office buildings are not open to the public other than official business visitors and credentialed press at this time. Accordingly, in-person visitors cannot be accommodated at this hearing. We encourage the public to utilize the Committee’s livestream of the hearing, available on the website at   

Member Statements

  1.  Sheldon Whitehouse (D - RI)
  2.  John Thune (R - SD)


  1. Barry Johnson
    Acting Chief, Research and Analytics Officer, Internal Revenue Service
    United States Department of the Treasury
    Washington , DC
  2. Doug O’Donnell
    Deputy Commissioner, Services & Enforcement, Internal Revenue Service
    United States Department of the Treasury
    Washington, , DC
  3. The Honorable J. Russell George
    Treasury Inspector General for Tax Administration
    United States Department of the Treasury
    Washington , DC
  4. Nina E. Olson
    Executive Director
    Center for Taxpayer Rights
    Washington , DC
  5. The Honorable Charles O. Rossotti
    Former Commissioner (1997-2002)
    Internal Revenue Service
    Washington , DC

Related Files

 How do I submit a statement for the record?

Any individual or organization wanting to present their views for inclusion in the hearing record should submit in a Word document, a single-spaced statement, not exceeding 10 pages in length. No other file type will be accepted for inclusion. Title and date of the hearing, and the full name and address of the individual or organization must appear on the first page of the statement. Statements must be received no later than two weeks following the conclusion of the hearing.

Statements can be emailed to:

Statements should be mailed (not faxed) to:

Senate Committee on Finance
Attn. Editorial and Document Section
Rm. SD-219
Dirksen Senate Office Bldg.
Washington, DC 20510-6200