Subcommittee Hearing

Defending and Investing in U.S. Competitiveness

Subcommittee on Fiscal Responsibility and Economic Growth Date: Wednesday, July 14, 2021 Time: 02:00 PM Location: 215 Dirksen Senate Office Building

Open in New Window


Pursuant to guidance from the CDC and OAP, Senate office buildings are not open to the public other than official business visitors and credentialed press at this time. Accordingly, in-person visitors cannot be accommodated at this hearing. We encourage the public to utilize the Committee’s livestream of the hearing, available on the website at

Member Statements

  1.  Elizabeth Warren (D - MA)
  2.  Bill Cassidy (R - LA)


  1. The Honorable William E. Spriggs, Ph.D.
    Professor of Economics, Chief Economist,
    Howard University , AFL-CIO
    Washington , DC
  2. Roy Houseman
    Legislative Director
    United Steelworkers
    Pittsburgh , PA
  3. Mary E. Gallagher, Ph.D.
    Amy and Alan Lowenstein Professor in Democracy, Democratization, and Human Rights
    University of Michigan
    Ann Arbor , MI
  4. Yaya J. Fanusie
    Adjunct Senior Fellow
    Center for a New American Security
    Washington , DC
  5. David M. Luna
    Executive Director
    International Coalition Against Illicit Economies (ICAIE)
    Washington , DC
  6. Jane Nakano
    Senior Fellow, Energy Security and Climate Change Program
    Center for Strategic and International Studies
    Washington , DC

Related Files

 How do I submit a statement for the record?

Any individual or organization wanting to present their views for inclusion in the hearing record should submit in a Word document, a single-spaced statement, not exceeding 10 pages in length. No other file type will be accepted for inclusion. Title and date of the hearing, and the full name and address of the individual or organization must appear on the first page of the statement. Statements must be received no later than two weeks following the conclusion of the hearing.

Statements can be emailed to:

Statements should be mailed (not faxed) to:

Senate Committee on Finance
Attn. Editorial and Document Section
Rm. SD-219
Dirksen Senate Office Bldg.
Washington, DC 20510-6200