Subcommittee Hearing

Encouraging Economic Self-Determination in Indian Country

Subcommittee on Long-Term Growth and Debt Reduction Date: Tuesday, May 23, 2006 Time: 02:30 PM Location: 215 Dirksen Senate Office Building

Member Statements

  1.  Gordon Smith (R - OR)
  2.  John F. Kerry (D - MA)


  1. Raymond C. Etcitty
    Chief Legislative Counsel
    Navajo Nation Office of Legislative Counsel
    Window Rock , AZ
  2. Lenor A. Scheffler
    Best & Flanagan LLP
    Minneapolis , MN
  3. Gavin Clarkson
    Assistant Professor
    University of Michigan, School of Information, School of Law, Native American Studies
    Ann Arbor , MI
  4. Scott Schickli
    Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP
    Portland , OR
  5. Wayne A. Esq. Shammel
    General Counsel
    Cow Creek Band of Umpqua Tribe of Indians
    Roseburg , OR

Related Files

 How do I submit a statement for the record?

Any individual or organization wanting to present their views for inclusion in the hearing record should submit in a Word document, a single-spaced statement, not exceeding 10 pages in length. No other file type will be accepted for inclusion. Title and date of the hearing, and the full name and address of the individual or organization must appear on the first page of the statement. Statements must be received no later than two weeks following the conclusion of the hearing.

Statements can be emailed to:

Statements should be mailed (not faxed) to:

Senate Committee on Finance
Attn. Editorial and Document Section
Rm. SD-219
Dirksen Senate Office Bldg.
Washington, DC 20510-6200