Full Committee Hearing

Executive Compensation: Backdating to the Future

Date: Wednesday, September 6, 2006 Time: 10:00 AM Location: 215 Dirksen Senate Office Building


Oversight of current issues regarding executive compensation including backdating of stock options; and tax treatment of executive compensation, retirement and benefits.

Member Statements

  1.  Chuck Grassley (R - IA)
  2. Senator Max Baucus (D - MT)


  1. The Honorable Paul J. McNulty
    Deputy Attorney General
    Department of Justice
    Washington , DC
  2. The Honorable Mark Everson
    Internal Revenue Service
    Washington , D.C.
  3. Linda Thomsen
    Division of Enforcement, United States Securities and Exchange Commission
    Washington , DC
  4. Nell Minow
    The Corporate Library
    Portland , ME
  5. Lucian Bebchuk
    William J. Friedman and Alicia Townsend Friedman Professor of Law, Economics, and Finance, Director, Program on Corporate Governance
    Harvard Law School
    Cambridge , MA
  6. Professor Charles M. Elson
    Edgar S. Wooland, Jr., Chair
    John L. Weinberg Center for Corporate Governance, Lerner College of Business and Economics, University of Delaware
    Newark , DE
  7. Steven Balsam
    Professor of Accounting
    The Fox School of Business and Management, Temple University
    Philadelphia , PA

Related Files

 How do I submit a statement for the record?

Any individual or organization wanting to present their views for inclusion in the hearing record should submit in a Word document, a single-spaced statement, not exceeding 10 pages in length. No other file type will be accepted for inclusion. Title and date of the hearing, and the full name and address of the individual or organization must appear on the first page of the statement. Statements must be received no later than two weeks following the conclusion of the hearing.

Statements can be emailed to:


Statements should be mailed (not faxed) to:

Senate Committee on Finance
Attn. Editorial and Document Section
Rm. SD-219
Dirksen Senate Office Bldg.
Washington, DC 20510-6200