Executive Session

Open Executive Session to consider S.J. Res. 17 and to consider the nominations of Miriam Sapiro, Dan Tangherlini, Carmen Nazario, William Wilkins, Kim Wallace, George Madison, Rosa Rios

Date: Thursday, July 23, 2009 Time: 10:00 AM Location: 215 Dirksen Senate Office Building

Open in New Window


Open Executive Session to consider S.J. Res. 17, a joint resolution approving the reauthorization and renewal of import restrictions contained in the Burmese Freedom and Democracy Act of 2003, and to favorably report the nominations of Miriam Sapiro, to be Deputy U.S. Trade Representative, with the rank of Ambassador; Dan Tangherlini, to be Assistant Secretary of Treasury for Management and Chief Financial Officer, Department of Treasury; Carmen Nazario, to be Assistant Secretary for Family Support, Department of Health and Human Services; William Wilkins, to be Chief Counsel for the Internal Revenue Service and an Assistant General Counsel for the Department of Treasury; Kim Wallace, to be Deputy Under Secretary of Treasury for Legislative Affairs, U.S. Department of Treasury; George Madison, to be General Counsel, U.S. Department of Treasury; and Rosa Rios, to be Treasurer of the United States.

Member Statements

  1. Senator Max Baucus (D - MT)
  2.  Chuck Grassley (R - IA)

Related Files

 How do I submit a statement for the record?

Any individual or organization wanting to present their views for inclusion in the hearing record should submit in a Word document, a single-spaced statement, not exceeding 10 pages in length. No other file type will be accepted for inclusion. Title and date of the hearing, and the full name and address of the individual or organization must appear on the first page of the statement. Statements must be received no later than two weeks following the conclusion of the hearing.

Statements can be emailed to:


Statements should be mailed (not faxed) to:

Senate Committee on Finance
Attn. Editorial and Document Section
Rm. SD-219
Dirksen Senate Office Bldg.
Washington, DC 20510-6200