Full Committee Hearing

Roundtable to Discuss Reforming America’s Health Care Delivery System

Date: Tuesday, April 21, 2009 Time: 10:00 AM Location: 216 Hart Senate Office Building

Open in New Window

Member Statements

  1. Senator Max Baucus (D - MT)
  2.  Chuck Grassley (R - IA)


  1. Allan Korn, M.D
    Senior Vice President and Chief Medical Officer, Office of Clinical Affairs
    Blue Cross Blue Shield Association
    Washington , DC
  2. Glenn Hackbarth, J.D.
    Medicare Payment Advisory Commission
    Washington , DC
  3. Peter Lee, J.D
    Executive Director, National Health Policy
    Pacific Business Group on Health
    San Francisco , CA
  4. The Honorable Mark McClellan, M.D., Ph.D.
    Director, Engelberg Center for Health Care Reform
    Brookings Institution
    Washington , DC
  5. Lewis Morris, J.D
    Chief Counsel to the Inspector General
    Office of Counsel to the Inspector General
    Washington , DC
  6. Mary Naylor, Ph.D., FAAN, RN
    Marian S. Ware Professor in Gerontology
    University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing
    Philadelphia , PA
  7. Debra Ness
    National Partnership for Women and Families
    Washington , DC
  8. Frank Opelka, M.D., FACS
    Professor of Surgery and Vice Chancellor for Clinical Affairs, Office of the Chancellor
    Louisiana State University, Health Science Center
    New Orleans , LA
  9. Glenn Steele Jr., M.D., Ph.D.
    Geisinger Health System
    Danville , PA
  10. John Tooker, M.D., MBA, FACP
    Executive Vice President/Chief Executive Officer
    American College of Physicians
    Philadelphia , PA
  11. Richard J. Umbdenstock
    FACHE, President and CEO
    American Hospital Association
    Washington , DC
  12. Ron Williams
    Chairman and CEO
    Aetna Inc.
    Hartford , CT
  13. Paul Diaz, J.D.
    President and Chief Executive Officer
    Kindred Healthcare, Inc.
    Louisville , KY

Related Files

 How do I submit a statement for the record?

Any individual or organization wanting to present their views for inclusion in the hearing record should submit in a Word document, a single-spaced statement, not exceeding 10 pages in length. No other file type will be accepted for inclusion. Title and date of the hearing, and the full name and address of the individual or organization must appear on the first page of the statement. Statements must be received no later than two weeks following the conclusion of the hearing.

Statements can be emailed to:


Statements should be mailed (not faxed) to:

Senate Committee on Finance
Attn. Editorial and Document Section
Rm. SD-219
Dirksen Senate Office Bldg.
Washington, DC 20510-6200