Subcommittee Hearing

The Hospital Insurance Trust Fund and the Future of Medicare Financing

Subcommittee on Fiscal Responsibility and Economic Growth Date: Wednesday, February 2, 2022 Time: 02:30 PM Location: 215 Dirksen Senate Office Building

Open in New Window


Pursuant to guidance from the CDC and OAP, Senate office buildings are not open to the public other than official business visitors and credentialed press at this time. Accordingly, in-person visitors cannot be accommodated at this hearing. We encourage the public to utilize the Committee’s livestream of the hearing, available on the website at   

Member Statements

  1.  Elizabeth Warren (D - MA)
  2.  Bill Cassidy (R - LA)


  1. Michael E. Chernew, Ph.D.
    Medicare Payment Advisory Commission
    Washington , DC
  2. Susan Rogers, MD, FACP
    Physicians for a National Health Program
    Chicago , IL
  3. Amy Kapczynski
    Professor of Law, Faculty Co-Director Global Health Justice Partnership, Faculty Co-Director Law and Political Economy Project
    Yale Law School
    New Haven , CT
  4. Katherine Baicker, Ph.D.
    Dean and Emmett Dedmon Professor, Harris School of Public Policy
    University of Chicago
    Chicago , IL
  5. James C. Capretta
    Senior Fellow and Milton Friedman Chair
    American Enterprise Institute
    Washington , DC

Related Files

 How do I submit a statement for the record?

Any individual or organization wanting to present their views for inclusion in the hearing record should submit in a Word document, a single-spaced statement, not exceeding 10 pages in length. No other file type will be accepted for inclusion. Title and date of the hearing, and the full name and address of the individual or organization must appear on the first page of the statement. Statements must be received no later than two weeks following the conclusion of the hearing.

Statements can be emailed to:

Statements should be mailed (not faxed) to:

Senate Committee on Finance
Attn. Editorial and Document Section
Rm. SD-219
Dirksen Senate Office Bldg.
Washington, DC 20510-6200