Subcommittee Hearing

The Strategic Benefits of a Multilateral Approach to Trade Policy in the Asia-Pacific Region

Subcommittee on International Trade, Customs, and Global Competitiveness Date: Tuesday, June 22, 2021 Time: 02:30 PM Location: 215 Dirksen Senate Office Building

Open in New Window


A witness list will be provided at a later date.

Pursuant to guidance from the CDC and OAP, Senate office buildings are not open to the public other than official business visitors and credentialed press at this time. Accordingly, in-person visitors cannot be accommodated at this hearing. We encourage the public to utilize the Committee’s livestream of the hearing, available on the website at   

Member Statements

  1.  Thomas R. Carper (D - DE)
  2.  John Cornyn (R - TX)


  1. Wendy S. Cutler
    Vice President
    Asia Society Policy Institute
    Washington , DC
  2. Donald Allan, Jr.
    President and Chief Financial Officer
    Stanley Black & Decker
    New Britain , CT
  3. Peter A. Petri, Ph.D.
    Carl J. Shapiro Professor of International Finance at the Brandeis International Business School and Nonresident Senior Fellow at the Brookings Institution
    Boston , MA
  4. The Honorable James B. Cunningham
    Nonresident Senior Fellow at the Atlantic Council and former U.S. Ambassador to Afghanistan, Israel, and the United Nations, former Consul General of the United States in Hong Kong, Board Chair of the Committee for Freedom in Hong Kong
    Elizabethtown , NY

Related Files

 How do I submit a statement for the record?

Any individual or organization wanting to present their views for inclusion in the hearing record should submit in a Word document, a single-spaced statement, not exceeding 10 pages in length. No other file type will be accepted for inclusion. Title and date of the hearing, and the full name and address of the individual or organization must appear on the first page of the statement. Statements must be received no later than two weeks following the conclusion of the hearing.

Statements can be emailed to:

Statements should be mailed (not faxed) to:

Senate Committee on Finance
Attn. Editorial and Document Section
Rm. SD-219
Dirksen Senate Office Bldg.
Washington, DC 20510-6200