February 09,2021

Crapo Announces Finance Committee Staff

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senate Finance Committee Ranking Member Mike Crapo (R-Idaho) has announced the Republican staff members of the Committee for the 117th Congress.  

“I am proud of the highly-qualified, well-respected group of individuals we have assembled to serve the American people on the Finance Committee in the 117th Congress,” said Crapo.  “This talented team will play a critical role in developing policies that will boost economic growth, expand access to affordable, quality health care, and improve global competitiveness in our trade deals.”  


Jeff Wrase, a Finance Committee veteran, will serve as Deputy Staff Director and Chief Economist, primarily focusing on issues in the tax space, and will also advise on all committee issues.  Mike Quickel, Crapo’s longtime tax and budget policy advisor, will be Policy Director, primarily focusing on tax, but will also assist with all committee issues.  Members of the tax, Social Security and pensions team include: 

Andre Barnett – Senior Tax Counsel

Courtney Connell – Senior Tax Counsel

Catherine Fuchs – Senior Counsel

Brandon Beall – Senior Advisor

Jen Deci – Senior Advisor

Matt Jones – Senior Counsel

Jamie Cummins – Tax Counsel 

The tax team will cover issues including, but not limited to, domestic and international tax policy, pensions and retirement tax policy, tax administration, unemployment insurance, Social Security, and oversight of the Treasury Department and Social Security Administration. 

Health Care  

Kellie McConnell, a senior health care advisor to Senator Crapo, will join the Finance Committee as Health Policy Director.  Longtime staffers Brett Baker and Erin Dempsey will be Deputy Health Policy Directors.  Members of the health care team:  

Kellie McConnell – Health Policy Director

Brett Baker – Deputy Health Policy Director

Erin Dempsey – Deputy Health Policy Director

Stuart Portman – Senior Health Policy Advisor

Lexi Hall – Policy Advisor

Lincoln Foran – Policy Advisor 

The Committee’s jurisdiction includes health programs under the Social Security Act, including Medicare, Medicaid, the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP), Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) and other health and human services programs financed by a specific tax or trust fund.  It also includes oversight of the Department of Health and Human Services and the Department of the Treasury. 


John O’Hara joins the Finance Committee as Trade Policy Director and Counsel, and Mayur Patel will continue as the Chief International Trade Counsel.  Other members of the trade team:  

Jen Deci – Senior Advisor

Matt Jones – Senior Counsel

James Guiliano – Policy Advisor 

The Committee’s jurisdiction includes customs, collection districts, and ports of entry and delivery; reciprocal trade agreements; tariff and import quotas, and related matters thereto; and the transportation of dutiable goods.


Amanda Critchfield will serve as Communications Director, and Gregg Richard will be Staff Director for the Committee.