January 03,2013

Press Contact:

Julia Lawless, Antonia Ferrier, 202.224.4515

Hatch Welcomes New Members to Senate Finance Committee

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senator Orrin Hatch (R-Utah) today welcomed Senators Johnny Isakson (R-Ga.), Rob Portman (R-Ohio), and Pat Toomey (R-Pa.) to serve on the Senate Finance Committee in the 113th Congress.

“The Finance Committee has a proud tradition and history that will only be made stronger with the addition of these three Senators,” said Hatch.  “America is at a crossroads – our debt is at unsustainable levels; our entitlement programs are on a path to bankruptcy; and our tax code is in desperate need for a comprehensive overhaul.  With these three Senators joining a strong bench on the Republican side of this committee, I know we can and will achieve significant reforms that the American people are demanding.”

The Finance Committee has the largest jurisdiction of any congressional committee overseeing over 50 percent of the nation’s budget, including America’s entitlement programs, Medicare, Medicaid and Social Security, all tax policy, international trade, several welfare programs and the nation’s debt.  

Below is the full list of the Republican members of the Finance Committee for the 113th Congress:

Orrin Hatch, Utah
Chuck Grassley, Iowa
Mike Crapo, Idaho
Pat Roberts, Kan.
Mike Enzi, Wyo.
John Cornyn, Texas
John Thune, S.D.
Richard Burr, N.C.
Johnny Isakson, Ga.
Rob Portman, Ohio
Pat Toomey, Pa.