July 21,2004

Grassley Announces Participants, Releases White Papers for Charitable Governance Roundtable

WASHINGTON – Sen. Chuck Grassley, chairman of the Committee on Finance, with ranking member Sen. Max Baucus, are convening a roundtable to consider white papers in responseto the bipartisan staff discussion draft of proposed reforms of tax-exempt organizations. Today,Grassley released the names of the roundtable participants, whose white papers will be posted at finance.senate.gov today.

The roundtable is scheduled for Thursday, July 22, from 2 p.m. to 5 p.m. in 215 Dirksen Senate Office Building. The committee chose the participants after soliciting white papers fromindividuals and organizations interested in participating.

“A lot of people in the tax-exempt field have views and expertise they’d like to share withthe committee,” Grassley said. “This roundtable will give them the opportunity to comment on thestaff discussion draft of reforms or anything else on charitable governance. I’m very pleased withthe strong response from the charitable community.”

The roundtable will be closed to the public and media to encourage maximum participationin the event. It follows the committee’s June 22 hearing on charitable governance reforms. The participants’ list follows.

Mr. Ira Millstein
Senior Partner
Weil, Gotshal & Manges

Ms. Marion Fremont Smith
Senior Research Fellow
Hauser Center for Nonprofit Organizations
Harvard University

Ms. Frances Hill
Professor of Law and Director, Graduate Program in Taxation
University of Miami School of Law

Ms. Betsey Buchalter Adler
Chair of ABA Section Taxation Committee on Exempt Organizations

Ms. Evelyn Brody
Reporter for the American Law Institute’s Project on Principles of the Law of Nonprofit Organizations
Professor, Chicago-Kent College of Law
Illinois Institute of Technology

Ms. Diana Aviv
President and Chief Executive Officer
Independent Sector

Ms. Jane Nichols
President and Chief Executive Officer
Goodwill Industries
Chattahoochee Valley, Inc.

Mr. Brian Gallagher
President and Chief Executive Officer
United Way of America

Ms. Dorothy S. Ridings
President and Chief Executive Officer
Council on Foundations

Mr. Pablo Eisenberg
Senior Fellow
Georgetown Public Policy Institute

Mr. Vaughn Henry
Henry and Associates
Gift and Estate Planning
Resources for Professionals

Ms. Audrey R. Alvarado
Executive Director
National Council of Nonprofit Associations (NCNA)

Mr. John H. Graham IV
President and CEO
The American Society of Association Executives (ASAE)

Mr. Peter V. Berns
Chief Executive Officer
Standards for Excellence Institute

Ms. Paulette Maehara
President and Chief Executive Officer
Association of Fundraising Professionals

Mr. Daniel Coleman
American Hospital Association

Ms. Kathleen Kenyon
General Counsel
Deaconess Billings Clinic (MT)

Mr. Alexis H. Johnson

Recent News